New West Courthouse Tower Dedication Ceremony

The Seventeenth Judicial Circuit celebrated the dedication ceremony of its new, 20-story courthouse tower on May 11, 2017. The west tower is now fully operational!


Last Updated (Wednesday, 24 May 2017 09:51)


ITB for Sound Reinforcement Systems - Re-Post with New Dates

Last Updated (Wednesday, 17 May 2017 14:12)


Judge Schiff Book Receives New Award

Baseball and the Law: Cases and Materials, a law school textbook co-authored by the Seventeenth Circuit’s Judge Louis Schiff, was recently honored with a 2017 Research Award by the Society of American Baseball Research (SABR). The award honors outstanding research projects that have “significantly expanded our knowledge or understanding of baseball…” as decided by a three-judge panel within SABR. A world-wide organization, SABR boasts many major and minor league baseball officials, broadcasters and writers, as well as numerous former players. Primarily, the membership consists of "just plain fans" — anyone interested in baseball can join. While the original purpose of SABR was to band together baseball historians, statisticians and researchers, it is not necessary to engage in research to become a member.

Well done, Judge Schiff!

Last Updated (Friday, 07 April 2017 14:44)


Letter to Convene 17th Circuit JNC


Three Robing Ceremonies Honor 13 New Judges

Friday, February 10, 2017 marked the third and final judicial robing ceremony of the year in the Seventeenth Circuit, by the official swearing in of the last five of the circuit’s 13 new judges. 

The Honorable Chief Judge Peter M. Weinstein presided over all three ceremonies which took place on Thursday, January 19, Friday, January 27, and Friday, February 10. 


January 19 Robing Ceremony, pictured left to right: Judge Barbara R. Duffy, Judge Michael Lynch, Judge Florence Taylor Barner, Judge Kim Theresa Mollica


January 27 Robing Ceremony, pictured left to right: Administrative County Court Judge Sharon Zeller, Judge Deborah Carpenter-Toye, Judge Jennifer Wigand Hilal, Judge Jose Izquierdo, Judge Martin S. Fein


February 10 Robing Ceremony, pictured left to right: Administrative County Court Judge Sharon Zeller, Judge Keathan B. Frink, Judge Andrea Ruth Gundersen, Judge Betsy Benson, Judge Kathleen McCarthy, Judge Michael Davis


Judge Schiff Book, Baseball and the Law, Gets Elite Review

The Seventeenth Judicial Circuit’s Judge Louis Schiff has again been recognized for Baseball and the Law: Cases and Materials, a law book he co-wrote and published in 2016. The Marquette Sports Law Review, deemed by many as the most prestigious sports law journal in the United States, has published a robust, 19-page review, aimed at giving guidance to law professors who wish to teach baseball law and adopt the book.  

Reviewer Russ VerSteeg concludes his introduction of the review by saying “…Schiff and Jarvis present cases and notes that help us appreciate, understand, and gain insight into some of the most important legal and social issues of the past and present. Antitrust, labor unions and collective bargaining, civil rights (e.g., issues relating to race, gender, and sexual orientation), the reserve clause, betting, gambling, drugs (both recreational and performance-enhancing), alcohol, violence, accidents and injuries, cheating, agency, family law, immigration law, environmental law, and communication technologies (e.g., radio, television, and Internet) all enter the mix of the interface between the sport of baseball and the law. The abundance of information and wealth of knowledge that this text offers makes it an invaluable resource.”

To read the full review, follow this link: http://scholarship.law.marquette.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1700&context=sportslaw

Last Updated (Wednesday, 08 February 2017 16:14)


New Chief Judge Elected

Fort Lauderdale, FL – The Seventeenth Judicial Circuit is pleased to announce the election of Judge Jack Tuter as its next Chief Judge. The role of Chief Judge assumes overall administrative responsibility of the circuit court, its staff, and its 90 judges. The Chief Judge is elected by a majority of the judges within the circuit. Judge Tuter officially begins as Chief Judge on July 1, 2017. 

The current Chief Judge, Peter M. Weinstein, is completing his third and final term as Chief Judge. He was first elected as Chief Judge in 2011 and that term will conclude on June 30th of this year. Judge Weinstein intends to remain on the bench in the Probate and Guardianship division.
First appointed in December 2005, Judge Tuter has served for many years as the administrative judge of the Circuit Civil division in the Seventeenth Circuit. He earned his Juris Doctor degree from University of Memphis and was admitted to the bar in 1982. 
Judge Tuter expressed his sincere thanks for the support of the judiciary and is looking forward to his new role.

Last Updated (Wednesday, 01 February 2017 16:54)


ATTENTION: Jan. 17 Moves to New Courthouse

Effective Tuesday, January 17, 2017 the following judges and magistrates will be moved in to and will be conducting court in the new courthouse: 


Judge Gold, Div. 60, Chambers 3125, Courtroom 3144 

Judge Greene, Div. 1/61, Chambers 12121, Courtroom 12152

Judge Speiser, Div. 62, Chambers 15133, Courtroom 12178  

Magistrate Laventure, Div. 68, Chambers 12129, Hearing Room 12176

Magistrate Vanni, Div. 69, Chambers 12127, Hearing Room 12174 


Judge Haimes, Div. 08, Chambers 16125, Courtroom 16170 

Judge Levenson, Div. 09, Chambers 16135, Courtroom 16165 

Judge Bidwill, Div. 05, Chambers 16133, Courtroom 16160   

Judge Perlman, Div. 04, Chambers 16131, Courtroom 16155  

Further, Judges Haimes, Levenson and Bidwill’s divisions are now fully electronic and will be receiving e-orders and e-scheduling.

All other civil divisions will be conducting business in the old courthouse until approximately March 2017.

Last Updated (Friday, 17 February 2017 16:17)


Eight New Judges Sworn In


January 3, 2017, the Seventeenth Circuit welcomed eight new judges to the bench in a group swearing-in ceremony presided over by Chief Judge Peter Weinstein. 

Pictured above, from left to right are: Chief Judge Peter Weinstein; County Civil Judge Betsy Benson; County Criminal Judge Deborah Carpenter-Toye; Circuit Criminal Judge Barbara R. Duffy; County Civil Judge Kathleen McCarthy; Circuit Criminal Judge Michael Lynch; County Civil Judge Kim Theresa Mollica; County Civil Judge Florence Taylor Barner; Family Judge Andrea Ruth Gundersen. 

Congratulations to all! 

Last Updated (Friday, 06 January 2017 13:13)

More Articles...