Free Wi-Fi Access to Court Records

Effective April 7, 2014, the 17th Judicial Circuit Court and the Clerk of Courts for the 17th Judicial Circuit jointly announce free Wi-Fi access to electronic court records. Access to clerk of court filings may be obtained via the Court’s wireless Wi-Fi access points throughout all four Broward County courthouses; Main Courthouse downtown in Fort Lauderdale, West Courthouse in Plantation, North Courthouse in Deerfield Beach, and South Courthouse in Hollywood.

All citizens, attorneys, law enforcement or state agencies, and any other interested parties will be able to access the clerk of court’s website and obtain efiled pleadings, case information and other matters of record that have been filed in a particular case.

The website service permitting access to Clerk of Court records is Broward County Electronic Court Records which can be found at http://ecr.browardclerk.info. This website will permit anyone to search and view case details or other electronically filed images attached to a particular case.

Please remember certain clerk of court files contain a hybrid of efiled documents or images and original paper filed documents. Website access only permits viewing of efiled images.

Users of the web service should access the site via Wi-Fi enabled devices such as mobile phones, laptops, and iPads utilizing web browsers such as Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox and Safari. Other portable devices may be able to connect, but viewing may be limited based on a device’s display capabilities.

To access the service while in a courthouse:

1. Connect your device to wireless network “Courthouse Public Wi-Fi”.

2. Enter http://ecr.browardclerk.info in your browser and accept website disclaimer to continue.  

3. Begin your search by entering the name of a party, case number or other search criteria depending on the type of case.

4. Access to court records are dictated by the Florida Supreme Court and therefore   confidential filings and other images not approved for public view may not be available.

5. Document images may not be downloaded or printed.

Please note a few variables that may impact the ability to access case records:

* The website may not be compatible with all portable devices or web browsers. 

* Wi-Fi coverage may not be available in certain areas of the Courthouse.  

* Guidelines for use of laptops and portable devices in the courtrooms are at the discretion of the Chief Judge, individual Division Judges and Court Administration.

* For help, technical support, and questions about the website, contact   This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it  

Last Updated (Monday, 31 March 2014 15:07)


Judge Merrigan Appointed to Circuit Bench


Congratulations to Judge Edward Merrigan who was appointed to the Circuit Court bench on Friday, March 20 by Governor Rick Scott. A County Court judge since 2009, Judge Merrigan has presided in the county criminal division as well as Broward Veterans’ Treatment Court. 

Judge Merrigan received his law degree from Cumberland School of Law and began his career as an attorney in 1989. He also serves in the U.S. Army Reserve and was recently promoted to the rank of Colonel. 

On behalf of the entire 17th Circuit family, well done Judge Merrigan! 

Last Updated (Tuesday, 25 March 2014 14:18)


Florida Supreme Court Warns of Email and Phone Scams


Mandatory E-Filing for Traffic Court

Last Updated (Thursday, 23 January 2014 11:45)



In consultation with the Hon. Howard Forman, Clerk of the Courts, the following divisions will start mandatory efiling effective 1/6/14. All other divisions are already getting e filed documents. 

Appeals (for criminal)

Circuit Criminal

County Criminal

Civil Traffic

Criminal Traffic

Juvenile Delinquency

Juvenile Dependency

Last Updated (Thursday, 12 December 2013 09:06)


Judge Merrigan Promoted in Army Reserve


The 17th Circuit’s own Judge Edward Merrigan was officially promoted to the rank of Colonel, United States Army Reserve, in early December. Judge Merrigan has served in the U.S. armed forces for nearly 20 years, and is a combat veteran.

First appointed to the county bench in 2009, Judge Merrigan has been able to utilize his military familiarity in the courtroom since being chosen to preside over Broward’s Veterans Treatment Court, established in 2012. 

The 17th Circuit family wishes you a heart-felt congratulations, Judge Merrigan! 

Last Updated (Thursday, 05 December 2013 14:06)


Notice of Intent to file New Case in the Complex Business and Tort Division


For all attorneys filing new cases in the circuit civil division of the 17th Judicial Circuit, with the advent of E filing, there is no known method to direct file complex business and complex tort cases through the State E file portal.

In an attempt to remedy this situation all attorneys/parties who wish to direct file a case meeting criteria for filing in complex business and tort – per Administrative Order 2013-11-Civ – must file with their complaint the attached “Notice of Intent to file New Case in the Complex Business and Tort Division

By filing the new complaint with this “Notice of Intent to file New Case in the Complex Business and Tort Division” the clerk will direct file the case into divisions (07) Business only; division (19) Business and Tort; and division (26) Complex Tort only.

The administrative order for complex business and tort can be found at: http://www.17th.flcourts.org/images/stories/17th_pdf_files/2013-11-civ.pdf

Jack Tuter

Administrative Judge Circuit Civil

Last Updated (Friday, 22 November 2013 17:26)


New County Court Judge Giuseppina Miranda


Congratulations to Giuseppina Miranda, the 17th Judicial Circuit's newest county court judge. Governor Rick Scott appointed Judge Miranda to the county bench on Friday, November 15, 2013. No stranger to the Broward courts, Judge Miranda has been a General Magistrate for the 17th Circuit since 2007. Prior to that, she was in private practice and also worked as a prosecutor for the State Attorney's Office. 

Congratulations on your new role in the 17th Judicial Circuit Judge Miranda!

Last Updated (Thursday, 05 December 2013 14:10)


Eliminating the Schoolhouse to Jailhouse Pipeline

CMF_8510 CMF_8530

On Tuesday, November 5, 2013, a landmark collaborative agreement was made official when county agency and community leaders signed The Broward County Collaborative Agreement of School Discipline, a pact aimed at curbing the “schoolhouse to jailhouse pipeline.” This agreement softens the “zero policy” standard adopted in the 1990’s by creating new procedures for schools to follow when a student commits a non-violent misdemeanor at school. Alternative resolutions to incidents such as trespassing, harassment, alcohol-related incidents, and possession of misdemeanor amounts of marijuana will now be implemented by administrators -- counseling and treatment in lieu of arrest.

This cooperative effort has been a long time in the making, and involves the participation of many agencies including the 17th Judicial Circuit Court, State Attorney’s Office, Public Defender’s Office, Broward Sheriff’s Office, Fort Lauderdale Police Department, Florida Department of Juvenile Justice, Broward County School Board, and more. It is anticipated that this collaborative agreement will reduce school-related arrests by 60 to 70 percent, seriously curtailing the “schoolhouse to jail house pipeline.”

A special thank you goes to Circuit Judge Elijah Williams, in the juvenile delinquency division, for bringing this idea to Broward County!


Last Updated (Wednesday, 20 November 2013 14:24)

More Articles...