17[™] JUDICIAL CIRCUIT OF FLORIDA

Broward County Courthouse 201 S.E. 6th Street, Suite 20170 Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301



TRIAL COURT ADMINISTRATOR'S OFFICE

SALLIE JAMES, PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICER (954) 831-7559 SJAMES@17TH.FLCOURTS.ORG

For Immediate Release

December 18, 2025

Five Judges with 125 Years Combined Experience Retire in December

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. – Five veteran judges with a combined 125 years of service are retiring from the 17th Judicial Circuit at the end of December.

Included are:

- County Court Judge Robert F. Diaz, 32 years. Judge Diaz is a law professor at Nova Southeastern University's Shepard Broad College of Law. Judge Diaz presided in Fort Lauderdale.
- County Court Judge Louis H. Schiff, 28 years. Judge Schiff is the co-author of <u>Baseball</u> and the <u>Law Cases and Materials</u> with a second book to soon be released. Judge Schiff presided at the North Regional Courthouse in Deerfield Beach.
- County Court Judge Robert W. Lee, 27 years. Judge Lee made national headlines in 2000 when he found himself in the thick of a controversial hand recount in one of the most bitterly contested Presidential elections in American history. Judge Lee presided in Fort Lauderdale.
- Circuit Court Judge John Murphy III, 20 years. Judge Murphy presided in Fort Lauderdale where he handled tobacco litigation for years.
- County Court Judge Terri-Ann Miller, 18 years. Judge Miller presided in the South Regional Courthouse in Hollywood.

The five retiring judges will be replaced by the following judges:

Circuit Judge Johnathan D. Lott; and County Court Judges Lauren N. Peffer, Woody R. Clermont, Corey B. Friedman and Kathleen E. Angione. Judge Lott will preside in Family Court in Fort Lauderdale; Judge Clermont is assigned to the South Regional Courthouse; Judge Peffer, the West

Regional Courthouse in Plantation; Judge Angione, the North Regional Courthouse and Judge Friedman, the main courthouse in Fort Lauderdale where he will preside over first appearances.

ABOUT THE SEVENTEENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT OF FLORIDA

The Seventeenth Judicial Circuit Court of Florida is the court for Broward County, headquartered in Fort Lauderdale, FL. It is the second largest circuit court in the state. Broward County has 90 judges. Of those, 32 are county court judges and 58 are circuit judges. Four courthouses comprise the 17th circuit and include the Broward County Courthouse in Fort Lauderdale, and three satellite courthouses: the North Regional Courthouse in Deerfield Beach, the West Regional Courthouse in Plantation and the South Regional Courthouse in Hollywood.

###