17th JUDICIAL CIRCUIT OF FLORIDA BROWARD COUNTY COURTHOUSE 201 S.E. 6th Street, Suite 20170 Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301



TRIAL COURT ADMINISTRATOR'S OFFICE SALLIE JAMES, PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICER (954) 831-7559 SJAMES@17TH.FLCOURTS.ORG

For Immediate Release

Jan. 13, 2025

ABOTA Names Judge David A. Haimes "Jurist of the Year 2024"

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. – The <u>17th Judicial Circuit</u> is delighted to announce that Circuit Judge David A. Haimes has been named "Jurist of the Year 2024" by the American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA) Fort Lauderdale chapter.

ABOTA presented Judge Haimes with the award on Jan. 9th during their 2025 Installation & Award Ceremony. An inscription on the award reads: "In recognition of your service and dedication in preserving the jury system for future generations."

The honor is fitting, said Chief Judge Jack Tuter.

"Judge Haimes is deserving of this prestigious recognition. He is a dedicated, hard-working public servant," Judge Tuter said. "On behalf of the 17th Judicial Circuit, we congratulate Judge Haimes and wish him continued success on the bench."

According to ABOTA's website, "Justice by the People," is the advocacy group's primary mission. ABOTA seeks to foster improvement in the ethical and technical standards of practice in the field of advocacy to more effectively represent litigants.

ABOUT THE SEVENTEENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT OF FLORIDA

The Seventeenth Judicial Circuit Court of Florida is the court for Broward County, headquartered in Fort Lauderdale, FL. It is the second largest circuit court in the state. Broward County has 90 judges. Of those, 32 are county court judges and 58 are circuit judges. Four courthouses comprise the 17th circuit and include the Broward County Courthouse in Fort Lauderdale, and three satellite courthouses: the North Regional Courthouse in Deerfield Beach, the West Regional Courthouse in Plantation and the South Regional Courthouse in Hollywood.