17[™] JUDICIAL CIRCUIT OF FLORIDA

BROWARD COUNTY COURTHOUSE 201 S.E. 6TH STREET, SUITE 20170 FORT LAUDERDALE, FL 33301



TRIAL COURT ADMINISTRATOR'S OFFICE

SALLIE JAMES, PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICER (954) 831-7559 SJAMES@17TH.FLCOURTS.ORG

For Immediate Release

Feb. 3, 2025

Broward Jurists Elect Judge Carol-Lisa Phillips as Circuit's New Chief Judge

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. – The 17th Judicial Circuit is pleased to announce that Broward Circuit Court Judge Carol-Lisa Phillips will serve as the Circuit's next Chief Judge. Her fellow jurists unanimously elected her today to the position, which carries a 2-year term. Judge Phillips ran unopposed.

"I am truly honored and humbled by the tremendous support from the judges in the 17th Judicial Circuit," Judge Phillips said on Monday. Judge Phillips is currently the Administrative Judge for the Circuit Civil Division.

Judge Phillips will assume the duties of Chief Judge on July 1st, 2025. She will replace outgoing Chief Judge Jack Tuter, whose 2-year term expires on June 30th. Judge Tuter will have served eight years as Chief Judge by the time he steps down.

"Judge Phillips is well-liked, hard-working and will serve the Circuit with distinction," Judge Tuter said. "I extend my heartfelt congratulations."

Judge Phillips has served the 17th Judicial Circuit since 2003, when she was appointed to the bench by (then) Gov. Jeb Bush to complete the term of Judge James Cohn, who was elevated to the federal bench. She was subsequently elected in 2006, then re-elected in 2012, 2018 and 2024.

Judge Phillips is a graduate of Nova Southeastern University's Shepard Broad College of Law and the University of Florida.

The Chief Judge is the administrative officer of the courts within the Circuit and directs the formation and implementation of policies and priorities for the operation of all courts and officers within the Circuit. The Chief Judge has administrative supervision over all the judges and court personnel and is responsible to the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.

ABOUT THE SEVENTEENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT OF FLORIDA

The Seventeenth Judicial Circuit Court of Florida is the court for Broward County, headquartered in Fort Lauderdale, FL. It is the second largest circuit court in the state. Broward County has 90 judges. Of those, 32 are county court judges and 58 are circuit judges. Four courthouses comprise the 17th circuit and include the Broward County Courthouse in Fort Lauderdale, and three satellite courthouses: the North Regional Courthouse in Deerfield Beach, the West Regional Courthouse in Plantation and the South Regional Courthouse in Hollywood.

###