About Court Administration

Joseph M. D’Amico, Esq.                                      
Trial Court Administrator

201 SE 6th Street, West Wing Tower, Room 20170
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Contact Number (954) 831-7740
Hurricane Information Line (954) 831-7777                       
Americans With Disabilities Information Line (954) 831-7721

The 17th Judicial Circuit serves the citizens of Broward County Florida.
It is the second largest jurisdiction in the State of Florida with a population of over 2 million residents.

Our Mission Statement

To provide the highest level of professional services with equality, respect and integrity to support the judiciary in their efforts to protect and declare the rights and responsibilities of the people; ensure access to justice for all citizens and provide a forum for the just and peaceful resolution of legal and factual disputes.

The Trial Court Administrator is selected by the Circuit and County Court Judges to assist the Chief Judge in carrying out the administrative duties of the Court. The Trial Court Administrator reports to the Chief Judge and makes executive decisions necessary to develop and operate the courts.

The Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) supports the Seventeenth Circuit by managing the business aspects of the court such as handling personnel matters, budget and fiscal management, purchasing and facilities management, research and statistical analysis, and other administrative matters.  The AOC employs non-judicial staff members who provide myriad support services to assist the judiciary in the daily operations of the court such as assuring that space is available and ready, providing case management, mediation services, court reporting, technology, video operations, interpreting and legal research.  A staff of over 200 state and county employees addresses the day-to-day needs of the courts, enabling the Circuit’s 90 judges and 11 magistrates to operate effectively and efficiently.

Broward County includes the following cities and municipalities:
Coconut Creek, Cooper City, Coral Springs, Dania, Davie, Deerfield Beach, Fort Lauderdale, Hallandale, Hillsboro Beach, Hollywood, Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, Lauderdale Lakes, Lauderhill, Lazy Lake Village, Lighthouse Point, Margate, Miramar, North Lauderdale, Oakland Park, Parkland, Pembroke Park, Pembroke Pines, Plantation, Pompano Beach, Sea Ranch Lakes, Southwest Ranches, Sunrise, Tamarac, Weston, West Park, Wilton Manors, and Unincorporated Broward