17<sup>тн</sup> JUDICIAL CIRCUIT OF FLORIDA BROWARD COUNTY COURTHOUSE 201 S.E. 6тн Street, Suite 20170 Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301



TRIAL COURT ADMINISTRATOR'S OFFICE SALLIE JAMES, PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICER (954) 831-7559 SJAMES@17TH.FLCOURTS.ORG

For Immediate Release

Oct. 16, 2024

## Broward Circuit Judge Elijah H. Williams Receives Archbishop Edward McCarthy Annual Award for Moral Principles

**Fort Lauderdale, FL** – The 17<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit Court announced today that Broward Circuit Judge Elijah H. Williams has been named recipient of The Archbishop Edward McCarthy Annual Award, an honor bestowed on a member of the legal community who exemplifies the moral principles espoused by Saint Thomas More. More - a judge, a statesmen and a humanitarian – was canonized a saint in 1535 by the Roman Catholic Church.

"Judge Williams is a friend and mentor. He has earned this award and deserves this distinguished recognition," said Jack Tuter, chief judge for the 17<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit. "He continues to serve the Circuit with honor and professionalism as the most senior member of the 17<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit Court."

Judge Williams is the Delinquency Chairperson for the Juvenile Division of the 17<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit Court of Broward County, FL.

The St. Thomas More Society of South Florida presented Judge Williams with the award on Oct. 2, 2024 at the St. Thomas More Red Mass & Dinner at St. Anthony's Catholic Church in Fort Lauderdale, FL.

"I am blown away by receiving the Archbishop Edward A. McCarthy Award from the St. Thomas More Society of South Florida," Williams said. "To be recognized with this award, bestowed for typifying the moral principles of Saint Thomas More, is an honor I never imagined."

Other past recipients from the 17<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit include Judge Edward H. Merrigan (2019) Judge Susan J. Aramony (posthumous in 2015), Judge Martin Bidwill (2007), and Judge Arthur M. Birken (2000).

## ABOUT THE SEVENTEENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT OF FLORIDA

The Seventeenth Judicial Circuit Court of Florida is the court for Broward County, headquartered in Fort Lauderdale, FL. It is the second largest circuit court in the state. Broward County has 90 judges. Of those, 32 are county court judges and 58 are circuit judges. Four courthouses comprise the 17th circuit and include the Broward County Courthouse in Fort Lauderdale, and three satellite courthouses: the North Regional Courthouse in Deerfield Beach, the West Regional Courthouse in Plantation and the South Regional Courthouse in Hollywood.