Judge Barner Host Mentorship Panel

Judge Florence Taylor Barner and Attorney Anisha Acthanah were the hosts of the Broward County Bar Association’s Mentorship View from the Bench Panel, which was a three part series featuring judges from various circuits. Judges were able to answer specific questions about their experience on the bench and best practices.

Judges Chris Brown, Catalina Avalos, George Odom, Jr., Daniel A. Casey, Fabinne E. Fahnestock, Jackie Powell, Kathleen McCarthy, and Stacy Ross all participated in the panel representing the 17th Judicial Circuit.

Judge Powell Keynote Speaker at Lauderdale Lakes Middle

The Honorable Jackie Powell was invited to be the keynote speaker at the induction of Lauderdale Lakes Middle School’s Chapter of the Mentoring Tomorrow’s Leaders program, and Boyd Anderson High School
Chapter of 5,000 Role Model. Judge Powell also administered the oath to the inductees of the Mentoring Tomorrow’s Leaders program.

Both programs have been created for Broward County students to have an opportunity to learn about the importance of mentorship, and to be able to become a role model for their community and peers.

Judge Barner Guest Speaker at Annual Teen Summit

The Honorable Florence Taylor Barner was a guest speaker for over six hundred high school
students at the FBI Miami Citizens Academy Alumni Association Youth Summit on Friday,
December 1, 2023.

The summit is held to bring students together from the tri-county area who participate in this
program and gives them the opportunity to learn about law enforcement and a potential career
in the field.